It's one of those *things*. It's on the list of things you should see, at least once. And nobody can really explain it in a way that does it justice. But I'm going to try anyway.
The costumes are creative. A bit odd. Cerebral. Mindless. And lots of fun.
Eileen said she'd pay real money to know how many men are making ER visits today with "sports-related ankle injuries". I've never seen so many men in drag in my entire life. And some of them had figures I would KILL for. :-P
There were also a lot of Star Wars groups - a herd of stormtroopers (that looked *real*) and about 20 people in jedi kight attire carrying light sabres marching under a banner that read "NYC Jedi Association". I'm not creative enough to make that up kids...it's just sad.
And to herald in the start of NYC Madness - there were lots of Santa Clauses, some of which you wouldn't want to show your child, let alone allow them anywhere near his lap. This one is my favorite. If you want people to throw their arms around you, just dress up as Santa. Works every time.