
Everyone loves vacations. They wait for them, plan for them, dream of them. Even me - I can be heard to mutter as I race from meeting to meeting "Damn, I need a vacation".
But I can say after two weeks of not working that I am officially bored out of my skull. I read a whole book today. Scarpetta. 800+ pages. Was it good? Yup. But I finished it and thought - "Crap. Now what am I gonna do?"
Do I have things I can be doing? No question. Tax time is coming, I have a very cool new scanner I need to learn. I still have to finish Zak's sweater. I recipies to copy into the blank recipie book I bought for Eileen. The Christmas tree needs to come down and be stored. I haven't scrapped in over a year, and have not printed a picture to update my picture frames since well before I moved here.
Luckily, my clothes closet is still fabulous. I have done all my laundry. I changed the sheets on my bed. I've cooked so much food that the freezer (such as it is) is filled to capacity. And yet, I can not seem to get motivated to do anything. Really.
I don't know why I am missing work, but I think it's really a combination of human interaction and purpose. I've always worked best under pressure - maybe I need the pressure to get stuff done. I knit for three days solid before Christmas and didn't QUITE get the last sweater done...now I won't even pick it up to do the last few rows and sew the thing together.
Really nothing to complain about. All my friends with kids and spouses would LOVE to have a week with nothing to do, no deadlines, no pressure. Want to stay in jammies all day and watch tv? Nothing stopping you. But I've had enough. Time to get back to my real life.
No comments:
Post a Comment