I do however, loathe New Year's Eve. I'd rather treat it like any other night, and just go to bed early.
Dubbed "Amateur Night" by chronic New Yorkers (I am not one, I'm too new to The City), it's the night where people who don't go out all year try to make up for all their couch-dwelling and drink everything they haven't imbibed over the past year in one nite. The city itself floods with people determined to stand ALL DAY in the freezing cold, with no access to food, water, wine or bathrooms in order to say "I was there". Did I mention the no bathrooms part? People I know who have done it, tell horror stories of frozen digits, vomit splattered shoes, sights of public pooping (not by dogs mind you). Yeah....sign me up.
The alternative was always to stay home and watch the classic "Dick Clark's Rockin' New Year's Eve". There was always another show, but it was for the "B Talent" or acts too cool for Dick and mainstream America. God Bless Dick Clark - but I hope they let him spend this year in peace with some dignity. I can't watch him make out with his wife again this year at midnight.
When I was younger, I would throw the New Year's party, and anyone who came - stayed. Those were the rules. That way, we knew everyone would be safe and off the roads. And I had a single friend, we never dated, but he was my New Years Kiss if neither of us was attached.
This year is what I like to refer to as a "Command Performance". Family event at the country club, black tie, everyone there...No graceful way out. "C'mon - It'll be FUN!"
Right.
Single, dateless, missing someone who for some reason has opted out, at a black-tie event that I'm pressured to attend. Sounds like the perfect way to start off the year.
But looking back, it wasn't that bad. Not my first choice, but I did have fun dancing with my siblings, and I've always loved dancing with my dad. His friends even stepped in, which was very sweet.
Yes, I would have rather been there in the arms of someone special. Yes, I would have rather been kissing him at midnight instead of staring at the sky and praying that this next year would bring what I want most.
But I don't get to dance very often anymore, and we did have a great time. I just wish that when the event rolls around again at the end of the year, I have a date.
![]() |
| Our party hats at Congressional NYE 2010. |

1 comment:
Dear Dateless and Desperate,
You are so brave to share what you're feeling. You WILL find the right man to appreciate that about you, and when you do, New Years Eve will still be Amateur Night, but even more tolerable :)
Post a Comment